new to ubuntu

how to use Ubuntu for beginners

Ubuntu 10.04 Inputting Korean Characters with SCIM

with 9 comments

I wanted to find out how to input Korean characters with Ubuntu. At first, I thought it was as easy as going to System> Preferences> Keyboard. I clicked on the Layouts tab and tried to add the Korean keyboard layout. Unfortunately, the Korean keyboard layout is just a regular QWERTY keyboard and does not have any Korean letters at all.

I found a post in ubuntuforums.org that explained how to enable Korean input.

1. Enable Korean language support by going to System> Administration> Language Support. Click on Install / Remove Languages, select Korean from the list and Apply Changes. Select scim as the Keyboard input method system.

2. Go to Applications> Ubuntu Software Center and search for scim-hangul and install Hangul Input Method Engine for SCIM.

3. On my computer SCIM was installed by default, but if not you can install it in the Ubuntu Software Center. It is called SCIM Input Method Setup. After it is installed you can find it under System> Preferences> SCIM Input Method Setup.

4. Restart your computer.

5. Activate SCIM by inputting ctrl + space bar. You should see a floating menu on the bottom right corner and/or a keyboard icon in the upper right corner. Both allow you to switch between Korean and English.

My preferred font for reading Korean text is Baekmuk Dotum and Baekmuk Gulim which are nicely legible. These can be installed through the Ubuntu Software Center by searching for Baekmuk series TrueType fonts. Then in Firefox, you can enable them by going to Edit> Preferences. Select the Content tab and select Advanced and then you can choose the fonts for Korean.

Update 01/02/2011

I was having trouble typing in text boxes in flash applications. Either one character or nothing appeared. (For example, logging into pandora or typing my zipcode for a map.) I guess scim was messing up the text input. When I exit scim, text input works normally. I decided to uninstall scim because I don’t use it often. I went to Applications > Ubuntu Software Center and searched for “scim” and uninstalled Scim Input Method Setup.

Written by newtoubuntu

July 3, 2010 at 8:40 pm

Posted in how to

Tagged with ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I installed the first part but I dont have scim option.
    All I have is None, ibus, lo-gtk, nabi, th-gtk.
    So I cant even search for the scim-hangul.

    What should I do?

    Send me a e-mail if anyone has a solution.
    Thank you,
    kor3anb3ast@hotmail.com

    John

    August 17, 2010 at 4:38 pm

  2. [...] Googled a for a little while, found the answer here.. [...]

  3. Thanks for the simple guidance.. :)

    havban

    November 17, 2010 at 3:23 pm

  4. Thnx from my wife’s family!!!

    Fontfinder

    January 28, 2011 at 5:30 am

  5. i didn’t undrestand

    joseph

    May 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm

  6. thanks, very useful. i will have to apply this for 11.0.4.

    kevin

    August 3, 2011 at 11:29 am

  7. I see you no longer use SCIM, but I’m hoping you can help me. I already use it to type in Japanese, but now that I’m also learning Korean, I want to be able to go back and forth with English/Japanese/Korean. Is that possible?
    I followed your instructions for Korean installation, but on my SCIM toolbox there’s still only the Japanese option.

    Samira

    September 1, 2011 at 8:52 am

  8. 감사합니다.. It was successful!
    Thanks!

    Navneet BAsutkar

    December 9, 2011 at 8:33 pm

  9. I did up No.4. but I couldn’t do No. 5.

    Kev

    August 18, 2012 at 10:21 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

